By | February 3, 2018

The Indian Institute of Technology or the IITs are the premium autonomous Engineering institutes of India and rank among the top engineering colleges of the world. IITs constitute a total of twenty three Engineering Institutes situated in different states of India. They are the dream Institutes for Engineering and Technology for all the aspiring students in India who want to study the variety of courses offered by the institutions. The institutes are most in demand for their 4-years B.Tech course, although there are other courses offered to the students like 5-year integrated degree courses in Master of Science or Master of Arts, M.Tech, MBA, MCA etc.

List of colleges:

There are at present sixteen IIT’s located at different states of India as mentioned below:

Sl. No. Name City/Town State
1 IIT Bhilai Bhilai Madhya Pradesh
2 IIT (BHU) Varanasi Utter Pradesh
3 IIT Bhubaneswar Bhubaneswar Odisha
4 IIT Bombay Mumbai Maharashtra
5 IIT Delhi New Delhi Delhi
6 IIT (ISM) Dhanbad Dhanbad Bihar
7 IIT Dharwad Dharwad Karnataka
8 IIT Gandhinagar Gandhinagar Gujarat
9 IIT Goa Goa Goa
10 IIT Guwahati Guwahati Assam
11 IIT Hyderabad Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh
12 IIT Indore Indore Madhya Pradesh
13 IIT Jodhpur Jodhpur Rajasthan
14 IIT Kanpur Kanpur Utter Pradesh
15 IIT Kharagpur Kharagpur West Bengal
16 IIT Chennai Chennai Tamil Nadu
17 IIT Mandi Mandi Himachal Pradesh
18 IIT Patna Patna Bihar
19 IIT Roorkee Roorkee Uttarakhand
20 IIT Rupnagar Rupnagar Punjab
21 IIT Jammu Jammu Jammu & Kashmir
22 IIT Palakkad Palakkad Kerala
23 IIT Tirupati Tirupati Tamil Nadu

Admission Procedure:

The desirous candidates have to appear in the Joint Entrance Examination – Advanced (JEE Advanced) conducted by one of the seven zonal IITs (IIT Roorkee, IIT Kharagpur, IIT Delhi, IIT Kanpur, IIT Madras, IIT Bombay and IIT Guwahati under the guidance of the Joint Admission Board and qualify for the admission to its Undergraduate courses. JEE (Advanced) offers scope for admission into undergraduate courses that leads to Bachelor’s Integrated Master’s Bachelor-Master Dual Degree in engineering, sciences or architecture. The programs are credit based and allow students to progress at their own pace.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The applicant must be a national of India.
  • The applicant must have cleared the 10 +2 or equivalent from any government recognized university or boards with a minimum 50 percent aggregate.
  • The applicant must have taken up Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry in Class 12.
  • The applicant must crack IIT-JEE Joint Entrance examination.
  • There is certain number of seats allotted to foreign nationals too.


The JEE (ADVANCED) exam consists of two papers- Paper I and Paper II both of three hours duration. Both papers are compulsory. The papers will contain three separate sections for Mathematics, Physics and Chemistry. The papers will be of objective type in the format of numerical answer type or multiple choices. They are designed to test analytic abilities, reasoning and comprehension of applicants.

Some questions might carry negative marking.

Eligibility Criteria for Indian Nationals for Appearing in JEE (ADVANCED)

Candidates must fulfil each of five listed criteria

Criteria I: Aspirants must be among the top 224000 in Paper I.
Criteria II: Aspirants must be less than 25 years of age. There is a five years relaxation for SC, ST and PwD candidates.
Criteria III: The candidate must be a current year pass out or a previous year pass out.
Criteria IV: Candidate could only sit for the exam for two consecutive years.
Criteria V: The candidate must not have taken admission in any IIT prior to giving this exam.

Registration Portal

Candidates could only register through the online registration portal.

Certificates Required for Registration

  • Class X Certificate or Birth Certificate
  • Class XII or Boards Certificate
  • Candidates seeking admission under OBC-NCL must submit their OBC-NCL Certificate
  • Candidates seeking admission under SC or ST Category must submit their caste (for SC) or tribe (for ST) certificate.
  • Candidates seeking admission under PwD category must submit their Physical Disability Certificate

Admit Card

After successfully registering for the exam, the candidates could download their admit card at the online registration portal.

Change in Admission Pattern

It was decided by the Joint Admission Board that from 2018 onwards the entrance examination for admission to Indian Institutes of Technology, JEE-Advanced, to be conducted through online mode only. This decision was taken to make the logistic and evaluation process easier. The Joint Admission Board is the policy making body for admission to IITs. For online mode of examination the students are required to take the examination at the designated centres where they would be required to answer the questions on a computer instead of an Optical Mark Reading (OMR) sheet. Up to now the examination was conducted through offline mode where they were required to answer the questions on the OMR sheet which was evaluated by machines.

Thus the students who qualify in the JEE-Advanced are called for counselling where they are required to produce the original documents regarding their educational qualification, age, etc. then they can submit the required admission fee, etc. to confirm their admission.